Top HVAC Technician Scholarships

top 15 hvac technician scholoarships

Demand for HVAC Technicians is on the rise. Even though it has been this way for a while, it is projected to get even higher in the next ten years. To equip aspiring technicians with everything they’ll need to know to begin a career in the field, a lot of colleges and universities offer HVAC Technology programs nationwide.

For those who would love to attend any of these programs with a scholarship, you’ll be glad to know that there are quite a few options to consider in this regard as well. To help you get started, we have listed below 15 of the very best HVAC scholarships, including crucial details such as eligibility requirements and the amount offered.

General HVAC Scholarships

Trinity Warranty Scholarship

Trinity Warranty Scholarship is a product of Trinity Warranty Solutions, an extended warranty provider for the HVAC/R Industry. The group offers four scholarships, each of which awards $2,000.

Candidates who wish to apply for this scholarship must fulfill a handful of requirements, including being a US citizen, national, or permanent resident, and being on course to pursue a certificate, diploma, or associate’s degree in HVAC/R Technology.

Stewart Richey Construction Scholarship

Offered by the Southcentral Kentucky Community and Technical College (SKYCTC), this program is one of many scholarships the institution provides. To qualify, students must complete at least one semester in an HVAC program and have a minimum CGPA of 2.5.

Successful applicants are awarded $500 per semester for three semesters.

NAWIC Founder’s Scholarship Foundation

This scholarship program has been around since 1963 and continues to help eligible applicants pursue a career as HVAC Technicians in accredited institutions. The scholarship awards $100,000, with each successful applicant getting between $500 - $2,000.

To qualify, candidates must be an undergraduate in a construction-related degree program. They must also have a minimum of 3.0 GPA.

Trade Academy HVAC Scholarship

Awarded through a partnership between Trade Academy and HouseCall Pro, this scholarship awards 20 eligible students $2,500 each to pursue a career as an HVAC Technician at any accredited college, technical school, or vocational school of their choice.

Applicants must be US citizens, nationals, or permanent residents to qualify.

EGIA Foundation HVAC Scholarship

The EGIA Foundation HVAC Scholarship offers $2500 to 20 students, so far as they are pursuing a degree or certificate in HVAC-related areas.

Conditions include a GPA of at least 2.0 and a desire to attend an accredited community college or approved vocational school. While not a mandatory rule, applicants between 18 to 26 years old are often favored.

This scholarship provides $3,000 to 3 individuals studying to be HVAC technicals, irrigation specialists, or plumbers. To qualify, applicants must create a video showcasing their skills in home improvement. $2000 goes to the winner while two runners-up split the remaining $1000 equally.

Rees Scholarship Foundation

The Rees Scholarship Foundation funds qualified HVAC Technology students to study in an accredited institution for one or two semesters.

To qualify, students must write a 500-word essay and provide their educational transcripts and two letters of recommendation. Each successful applicant gets a total of up to $2000.

Regional & School-Based Scholarships

Jim Vanderford Technical Scholarship

The Jim Vanderford Technical Scholarship is available for Gadsden State Community College students. It is awarded based on academic and technical achievement, extra-curricular leadership, and exhibited talents.

Successful applicants get to receive full, partial payment of their tuition fees. To qualify, candidates must either be current or graduating high school seniors.

Jackson Family Scholarship

The Jackson Family Scholarship is available to students of Laramie Community College in Laramie, Wyoming. Any current high school student can apply if they’re interested in studying HVAC/R technology at the school.

A GPA of at least 2.5 is necessary to apply. The amounts awarded vary, so interested applicants are advised to contact the school to determine their eligibility.

Minnesota Masonic Charities Career and Technical Scholarship

The Minnesota Masonic Charities Career and Technical Scholarship is one of the most extensive scholarship programs. Its HVAC Technology scholarship is only one of many awarded by the initiative.

There are 40 available awards in this category, and selected students get $2,500 yearly for a maximum of 2 years.

Davis Memorial Foundation

Awarded to honor the memory of Larry and Mary Davis, this scholarship is given yearly to people looking to further their education in construction-related fields.

Students must fulfill a handful of personal and academic achievements to qualify. They must also live in states covered by the WSRCA service, which includes California, Nevada, South Dakota, Wyoming, Washington, Hawaii, Texas, New Mexico, Oregon, Montana, Idaho, Colorado, and Alaska.

Bruce A. Emig Memorial Scholarship

Students attending the Pennsylvania College of Technology (PCT) are advised to apply for the Bruce A. Emig Scholarship as long as they are majoring in an HVAC or building automation program.

The scholarship is mainly awarded to students who have graduated high school for at least four years before starting their program.

Demographic-based HVAC Scholarships

Women in HVAC/R

The Women in HVAC/R Association awards a special scholarship each year to encourage more women to take up a career in the field.

To qualify, applicants must be female high school students planning to enroll in an HVAC/R field. The institution could be a trade school or a university. They must also have a GPA of at least 3.0 and submit a 500-word essay about their passion for the field.

Soroptimist Live Your Dream Awards

The Soroptimist organization is a popular global movement encompassing women from various walks of life. The organization has awarded scholarships of over 2.8 million dollars through the years.

The amount awarded per individual ranges from $1,000 - $10,000. Applicants must be from a member country to qualify. These include Venezuela, the USA, the Philippines, Taiwan, Paraguay, Palau, Peru, Panama, Mexico, the Mariana Islands, Japan, Korea, Ecuador, Colombia, Brazil, Canada, Argentina, and Bolivia.

Association of Women Contractors Scholarship

Female students seeking a degree or certificate in construction-related fields are encouraged to apply for this scholarship awarded by the Association of Women Contractors.

The award is divided into two categories - one for females currently working as apprentices and the other for those graduating from a trade program.

Applicants must live in Minnesota or work for a company in Minnesota to qualify.